Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The Night Circus
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Night Circus had a different tone of writing than I’m normally used to. It’s dark, angsty and the magic completely draws you into the world of the Night Circus. It’s also painfully slow. 95% of the book is description, after description, after description of any and everything. It is not a book that’ll wow you, but it was different in a way that made me feel like I was constantly in a dark theater, watching the magical challenges bounce back and forth between Celia and Marco.

I really loved Celia’s character. She was endearing, and Morgenstern did an amazing job at portraying her as a strong “weak” character. Marco was both an enigmatic adversary and lover. If you’re looking for contemporary romance, this is not the book for you. It is not bright, cheerful and painless. There is mystery, intrigue and most of the time I was sad because of the complications between Celia and Marco that prevented them from being together.

The Night Circus was beautiful and sad at the same time and kept me rooting for Celia and Marco from beginning to end. 4/5 stars.

View all my reviews